New England & North West

The New England

or New England North West is a large inland area bordering north to the Darling Downs and south to the Hunter region. Extending from Tenterfield in the north to Walchain the south and includes Armidale, Uralla, Tamworth,Gunnedah, Narrabri, Inverell, Glen Innes and Severn Shire.
Whilst the boundaries of the region may vary depending on your source, the most common definition shows that New England includes the Northern Tablelands or the New England Tableland, an area that rises more than 800 metres above sea level, forming part of the Great Dividing Range. With two major centres being Armidale and Tamworth, the region includes both the North West Slopes and the Liverpool Plains, among other areas, that re-defines the region as New England North West or the Northern Region.
What ever the definition, the region offers the tourist a unique look at inland New South Wales, and an experience of what makes the outback what it is.
There are also World Heritage National Parks, all with excellent walking trails, camping areas and viewing platforms and all within easy reach of major towns. Some of the natural attractions include Oxley Wild Rivers National Park, Copetown State Recreation and Pindari Dams, Washpool and Gibraltar Range National Parks, Mann River Nature Reserve, Torrington State Recreation Area, Boonoo Boonoo Falls National Park, Girraween and Sundown National Parks.


Find More  
  • Sign up
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.
We do not share your personal details with anyone.